New Year’s Good Luck Black Eyed Peas

New Year's Good Luck Black Eyed Peas

I woke up this morning intending to write, so far I promised my Mom I would be at her place in an hour, cleaned up more Christmas remnants, watered plants and watched some of Paula Deen on TV, and talked to my Hubbs on the phone about gas prices and where to get the best gas. Totally avoiding writing about things.

I had an awesome holiday season! I took 11 days off from work, I had never done that before. Always worked during the holiday season because I do not have kids and always thought, “why take off and use the vaca time when it’s super quiet and so easy to work?” So I took the time off because I have too much vaca time anyway and was asked to take vaca hours. I am doing this next year!! It was great, did not know how great it is taking the time off to just decompress! And I cooked and baked. A lot!!

I made chocolate truffle cookies, white chocolate dipped biscotti, a huge Prime Rib dinner for Christmas, and something new, Black Eyed Peas for New Year’s breakfast. I posted a pic of the Black Eyed Peas with sausage. It was really really good. And supposed to be good luck, at least in the southern states, so wanted to create good karma in the New Year and did it.

I was at the Natural Foods Store when I got the idea to make this dish. I just picked up a package of black eyed peas, soaked them overnight (they always need soaking). Went to a friends home for New Years and played Yahtzee all night while the beans soaked. Found out Yahtzee is really fun and so is Taboo. I am a sucker for board games. I could play them all night. On New Years Day I made the peas with regular breakfast sausage as I was not going out to the store for a ham hock and they don’t sell meat products at the Natural Foods Store. It turned out super good! I made eggs over easy and corn bread to go with the dish. If this tasty goodness doesn’t bring us luck I don’t know what will. Other than keeping a positive attitude, and not getting mad at traffic that is. Have a horrible habit of letting myself get mad at stupid things.

This New Year is off to a pleasantly awesome start!!

Leave a Reply

