Bats and Caverns

This Saturday marked a very important day for me and my Hubbs, the first day of summer! I love summer and the sunny and hot days, hours at the pool, beach bonfires, popcicles, and barbeques in the backyard. The times I love most are vacations. Going to locations exotic and local are some of my favorite things. This year my Hubbs chose to go to the Carlsbad Caverns in New Mexico, where stalactites and stalagmites rule the landscape and bats fly overhead. He also wanted to do a trip via motorcycle, and this destination was fairly close but far enough away to help us have a real vaca.

We are here now, we climbed down the cave for 3 and a half miles, staring in amazement at what Mother Nature can do over 250 million years. It’s bat birthing season and my Hubbs loves him some bats! So we spent two nights waiting for the creature to make an appearance at dusk for their nightly flight. The first night however only produced about a hundred of the Mexican Freetail Bats. Not too exciting, we were exhausted and tired from our 400 mile trip through from Las Cruces and my Hubbs wanted to see billions of bats. Next day we traveled to the insides of the Cavern, beautiful and majestic, nature creating spooky and beautiful scenes.

After the Cavern hike, we decided to head back to the hotel to relax before the next nightly flight of bats. We returned to the amphitheater to hopefully see something, but our hopes weren’t up. Fortunately, this night proved fortuitous! We saw thousands of the little, flying mammals! We were so excited! Finally, we hit pay dirt, or bat guano. We had to quickly club back on the bike and head back. We could see a huge lightning storm and we’re not looking forward to riding in the rain. Bad idea for motorcycles. We got back and not a drop of rain was to be had!

My Hubbs in his element!

My Hubbs in his element!

My Hubbs loves caves!

My Hubbs loves caves!


Tonight we were standing in front of our hotel and saw some of the bats flying above our heads! So fun to see them in action! It’s been an amazing day of nature and closeness that I can truly appreciate!

Leave a Reply

